Hello!

You've found the landing page for all things OneLoneCoder (or "OLC" for short). What started as a fun way to for one man to document his projects, became an established, talented and friendly community of programmers who like to code things for fun. From absolute beginners to established industry grey-beards, we've all found each other through our shared love of programming, technology and being a bit silly.

Well that would be me! You've probably seen my face splattered on some YouTube videos if youve been looking for resources to learn about programming. I've been programming for around 30 years, as a hobby, as an academic and currently as an industrial engineer. I began my programming journey with a BBC Model B+ in the 1980's, and worked my way through various BASICs, Pascals, C/C++'s and some odd ball things like Java, C# and VHDL!

I've always been fascinated by how computer games work, often more so than the game itself. As such, as I've learned new programming concepts I've always tried to use them in games. Well, more like demos. Well, more like fragments of game demos. Ok, so finishing things wasnt exactly my priority. This made learning programming fun! Once I became adept at it, I realised many of those techniques were applicable to complex simulations and industrial applications.

My academic background is in the quirky field of Neuromorphic Engineering, where I completed my PhD studying large scale simulation architectures for biologically inspired networks (yeeeeears before stable diffusion, just saying...). This led to needing to understand electronics so I could design novel simulation hardware architectures exploiting both digital and analogue processing.